I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to be the proud mummy of Holly. When she comes to me she will be on dry dog food. My neighbour has a puppy 8 weeks old now and she is using the BARF diet. I wondered what people thought about this as I am considering it for Holly. Any and all thoughts about this gratefully recieved.

Hotep
Liz
xx:confused:

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
Hi Liz,

I'd recommend that you do a forum search on here for it - there are lots and lots of references to it. Helen (Dylansmum) feeds Dylan BARF, so try searching her posts. Also, there have been sooooo many recommendation of Orijen, which is dried food made on BARF principles, that I have ordered a trial pack and am going to try switching Rosie to that.

I'm no expert and I think that the most important thing is that you've got to find the food that suits your dog, but if it does suit, I think it is a good way to ensure you're not feeding any old cr4p from the abbatoir that the food manufacturers have thrown in along with a whole load of cereal to bulk it up and make it cheaper.

Louise

·
Registered
1,758 Posts
Hi Liz, I replied about BARF on the other thread. I would just add here that for me the benefits are:
A completely natural diet with no artificial additives to give optimum health, better skin, teeth, digestion, immune system, no allergies etc. I am sure that a lot of medical conditions, including cancers and also behaviour problems are caused by artificial additives and cereals and poor quality food.
Dylan is completely odour-free (except after bathing in stagnant water:D)
The poos are small, firm and barely smelly.
I started feeding a holistic kibble, but was just turned off by the thought of the puppy that I adored eating nothing but little brown pellets for the whole of his life. I love the fact that he is eating "real" food.