I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Our 8 week old puppy Harley is settling in really well. He's already ok with being left in his crate in our dining room (kitchen too small to leave crate in all the time) for about an hour while we go out and sleeps in it at night with only a little crying! We are letting him out for a wee every hour or so during the day and every 3 hours or so in the night and he isn't having accidents in the crate which is good.

I work as a part-time teacher 3 days a week and am already dreading going back to work at the start of January! I have family and friends that will be popping in to feed Harley and let him out but obviously that is going to be a big difference to us being here most of the time.

I would really appreciate some advice... what should I do from now till I go back to work to gradually get him used to it? Is it best to leave him in the crate between the times that people pop in? Or leave the crate in the kitchen with the kitchen door closed? Any tips from other working 'mums' would be great! Thanks...and happy christmas.

Paula x

·
Registered
720 Posts
Hi Paula.
Sorry but this reply is from a working "Dad".:D
You seem to be getting on very well just continue leaving Harley in his crate and build up how long you leave him. He may have some accidents in his crate when you go to work but as he gets older this will improve.
I would leave the crater in the dinning room as this is were he is used to being,and part of his routine.
Yes I would leave him in his crate in between people looking in on him.

For more tips check out our club site

http://www.cockapooclubgb.co.uk/index.html

·
Registered
2,870 Posts
I think at this very young age they can feel more safe and secure in their crate rather than being alone in a whole room. Biscuit really whines and scratches at a door if I leave him in a room, just for a few minutes, but settles well if I put him in his crate.

·