I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi - I am new to this and posted my hello on an old thread so apologies :eek:
We are the proud family of a wonderful 12 week old puppy called Poppy - she is absolutely stunning and loads of fun.
We only have one issue, she cries a lot in the night, we have had her for a week now and unfortunately I got into the habit of going down when she cried to stop the kids waking up and she is used to it now. Last night we tried to ignore it but then she started barking so I went down but didn't open her cage, just sat there until she stopped and fell asleep - it took a while but she did settle. We have put a hot water bottle in with her, radio on, top with our smell on it and cover the cage (the breeder recommended that), will this stop soon or is there something else I can do to help her?
Any advice is gratefully received.
Many thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
2,870 Posts
You are right - she is a stunner! Very cuddly looking! I'm afraid the way I would do it is just to leave her. The minute you go down to their crying, then they learn that that is the way to get you there. I would rather have the kids waking just to get her used to being left for the night, which should bring quicker results. You sound like you have done all the right things as far as the crate is concerned but the hardest part now will be to ignore the barking and whining! I know it's hard but they are just like babies really and will learn to settle as soon as they learn that making a noise won't bring you to the crate. In the end, it's the kindest thing you can teach a dog to be able to settle alone and to get the sleep she needs. Good luck!

·
Registered
909 Posts