I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello - newbie here! Multiple dog owners please!

Hi all

Bit of background to me, I have an Australian Labradoodle called Bailey who is 4, coming up to 5 in November; and have always thought of getting him a sister, ongoing thing for last few years.

However, I think I am close to being ready to make the jump.

I have contacted a few breeders for the times when it would suit best, and just have some questions for two dog households.

I live alone, so this will be a lot of fun, madness think tears of joy, tantrums of new pup and Bailey looking at me to say your mad moments!

Firstly, I have little fear (though you never know) of Bailey with a new family addition, he has always been great with other dogs and when he did use to go to creche was the dog that could get every puppy out to play even if they were nervous. However, having one at home could be interesting, though he was playing with a 12 week old terrier this past weekend and was great with her (was kind of clarity moment - yes this could work).

So questions,
1. As Bailey is now not crated (he was until 7/8 months but is now free around home after working up to this) how does this work with a new pup? He sleeps in my room, though I sometimes hear him move around the flat at night. Has anyone had same situation will he stay with me or head to lounge (where crate would be) and be with pup or perhaps tell pup to be quiet if crying or would it be best to keep him in my room and close door?

2. Bailey will still need his walks, I have great friends and neighbours who have already offered to help with these, but can't expect that all of the time, when he was a pup I took him with me to shops (carrying in coat until jabs were complete) but with taking Bailey to park I wouldn't want to risk taking the new pup for health reasons. Would she be ok for up to 30 mins in her crate for first few weeks?