I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there everyone, i'm fairly new to this forum business and havent posted before but i need some advice and felt you guys were the 'experts' to seek guidance from :)

I've been researching cockapoo pups for a few months and finally found a lovely lady whose 2 pet cocker spaniels were due to have pups. We've exchanged various emails over the last few months and built up a fab 'relationship' - i've learned lots about her dogs, their 'histories', health etc. Pups have finally arrived all healthy which is obviously good however i had set my heart on a lighter cockapoo in the apricot to red range and sods law there wasnt one!!! However.....out of 6 pups 4 were black / tri coloured, 1 was choc (like his poodle dad) and one was a white/cream pup with a few brownish splodges - basically she looked like her spaniel mum. Is it therefore likely that she will be more spaniel like? Am i going to get a surprise as time ticks on :eek: I know it is a bit of a lottery and you cant predict but any advice or info on your experiences of colour changes & ranges in litters would be very gratefully received as i'm a little confused :confused::confused::confused:. I know the pup is from a lovely, caring home etc from a super mummy dog (which is obviously very important) but i am going to regret it? is colour that important? Have any of you peos changed your mind? and if so have any of you regretted it later on or perhaps been glad you changed your mind?
HELP please.........

·
Registered
2,006 Posts
I dont think it means she will be more spaniel like.You shouldnt be able to go and pick them till their around 5-6weeks old and by that time hopefully you will be able to see what their coat will be like i suggest going for one that looks more wavy/curly then straight.
The white/cream one could turn out to be roan? or could stay as is again i think by 6weeks the breeder will be able to tell.