I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
we have just gotten our new puppy - he will be 14 weeks old tomorrow. we are having some problems with the crate ... he hates it ! the first day we had him i put him in there for just a few minutes and he seemed fine, but then when bed time came and i put him in it he barked forever ! need help in getting him to sleep in the crate. Ever since that first night he will not go back in it, as soon as i put him in he is fighting to get out. How do I get him more comfortable in it - how long do I let him bark once he is in it ? any help would be greatly appreciated, we have had some very long nights !

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
I'm no expert and I wouldn't say Lolly loves her crate (more tolerates it) but we had a few sleepless nights at first. our 5th night was the worst as she cried on and off all night! I happened to be visiting the vet the next day and she sold me a DAP spray which smells of lactating bitches apparently. I also found this forum that morning and gained some advice from here.
so on that 6th night we used the spray, kept her awake more in the evening before bedtime, all took turns wearing a t-shirt that we put into her bed with her, left the radio on - and she slept all night and has done ever since! (my dog trainer said she probably would have without all those things as dogs tend to have one last all out ditch attempt to get what they want!) We never went down to her in the night when she cried before the 6th night.
Now I use the crate when I go out and she no longer cries when I put her in it (she cried for a few weeks for no more than 10 minutes at first- my neighbour told me this)
Lolly is 20 weeks now and we still feed her in her crate and occasionaly I find she has gone in for a nap on her own (usually when we have company strangely) so it can't be that bad in there!

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
- how long do I let him bark once he is in it ? !