I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Who does everyone use to insure their cockapoo? We will be getting our new puppy in two weeks and I want to make sure I have adequate cover.

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
We use PetPlan - the policy that doesn't limit you to a certain amount per condition or per year.

We were buying Rosie at the time that my brother's beagle had an operation for a slipped disc and their pet insurance was limited to £2k. She had an MRI scan and an operation and the total cost was £4k! That was Tesco Pet Insurance. So we decided to take the decision seriously!

Petplan is recommended by our vet and I found a few websites that said it was the best. I have no personal experience of making a claim and hopefully I never will have!

·
Registered
14 Posts
We have Petplan too.
Our breeder recommended them as they have all thier dogs insured with PetPlan too.
make sure you get the policy that is for life. apparently if you dont get the 'for life' policy insurance company's can stop your insurance at 8 years old or increase the price quite a lot.

Hope that helps.

·
Registered
1,758 Posts
make sure you get the policy that is for life. apparently if you dont get the 'for life' policy insurance company's can stop your insurance at 8 years old or increase the price quite a lot.
When you have a covered for life policy, the premium still goes up each year doesn't it? I think it gets really expensive for older dogs. If the price was held, I'd definitely go for this one.

·
Administrator
5,020 Posts
we are with More Than, have made one claim on Inca when she swalowed a dummy teat and couldnt pass it(this was exactly a week after being spayed)

we have everything (rather than putting their names i have just ritten their letters lol i think its self explanitory lol)

vet fees upto(for G, I & E) £7000 ( D) £3000
dethfrom injury (G, I & E) £600 (D)£500
loss by theft or straying "
advertizing and reward "