I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
can anyone tell me if kennel cough is very contagious as my sister's dog we think has it. Pushca has been with him for 2 days but she had 2 injections against it 2 mths ago. And my vet gave me antibiotics. just wanted to check thankyou:)

·
Registered
1,758 Posts
I'm not an expert but I think it is quite contagious. Antibiotics don't work against it as it's a virus. Dylan had it - no idea where he caught it, but it was very mild - barely noticed any symptoms. I believe that the jabs don't work against every strain either - I think it's a bit like flu, there are lots of different strains and you can't vaccinate against all of them. I think Kendal is a lot more knowledgeable on this topic so hopefully she'll post.

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Helen. The vet gave my sister advice to get benylin! My vet gave Pushca two jabs and anti biotics....£120 later.....and she still may getit...oh well benylin it is next time:eek:

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I wish I was more forceful too. My vet charged me £44 on her follow up inspection after her spaying as she popped her glands....the follow was supposed to be included in the £380 fee and I just paid it> needless to say I have changed my vet but not my forcefulness sadl:mad:y

·
Administrator
5,020 Posts
my girls have never had kennel cough but the boarding kennel i work at had a bade Case of it last summer 2010, it was a nightmare to get rid of as it was in my aria and others and we have dogs come form miles away to use out kennels. this is why i don't believe the KC vacc does any good as both dogs with the KC vacc and without got it, but their were others who had and didn't have the KC vacc that didn't get it.