I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
We have brought a cockapoo who is now 5 months old we have named him Leo, we've had him for 3 weeks now. I am a full-time university student who commutes to university, I live with my mum who is a wheelchair user and frequently in pain due to her conditions.

We were told before we had him that no prior training had been done.

As soon as we got him we started treat training although not receptive at first he eventually took a very strong liking to treats. We have worked on sit, stay, lay down, paw, recall and roll over, he seems to be doing well on them fronts however he struggles to understand the concept of games like fetch, sometimes he just doesn't want to play with me with the toy.

He refuses to just stay in one place and loves to run around everywhere he also has a habit of jumping up which we are trying to beat as it is severely painful if he jumps on my mum's legs. He also tries to jump even leap onto the sofa however he is not allowed and he refuses to listen to 'no'. We take him down after telling him 'no' and 'off' and he repeatedly continues to jump. When he gets too hyper we give him a little break in his crate then let him back out.

Whilst training he is receptive but only because of the treat when treats are not involved, he only listens sometimes. He comes when called on occasion too.