I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
962 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
We have Billy booked in for his neutering on Wednesday, he will be nearly 7 months.
Had further discussions with hubby who is reluctant to have him done so soon. He has just started to **** his leg a couple of times this week (Billy not hubby!), and we are wondering if we should leave him for another month. Also he has the most amazing personality - has anyone experienced any major change there?
Any words of wisdom or support?
H x

·
Registered
3,292 Posts
I have no experience of male dogs, but from what I've read, there is a definite case for letting him mature first. I have made that decision with having Izzy spayed. I don't believe that personality changes are the norm either, there is some debate about whether neutering calms a dog down. If you are not having any problems with Billy scenting, then there may not be a pressing need to have his op yet. Good luck with whatever you decide :)

·
Registered
8,257 Posts
My honest opinion is to speak to your vet ... when to spay or neuter always has a difference of opinion ... and I have read so much on early and late spaying/neutering but really I think it just comes down to what each vet advises and what suits the owner ...

I have lived with a few males dogs in my life (different breeds), some have been neutered young and some neutered late ... no difference in their character at all .. each dog is different and some males do start scent marking which can be rather unpleasant if done in the home ...

Surely a vet would not neuter early if it would cause your dog any problems ...

·
Registered
2,870 Posts