I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello:

I am brand new to owning a cockapoo. Had done tons of research and thought I was READY -- have had him home only 5 days and success with crate training, potty issues going pretty good. My big concern is this 8 week old is a "wild man" -- haven't figured many techniques to calm him down. I don't want to be frustrated. Outside he only wants to eat dirt, mulch, anything. Can hardly divert his attention to keep moving.

Does it get much easier?? I fear he's always going to be wild! Thanks.

·
Administrator
5,020 Posts
hey welcome, he should calm down but it will probably take some time and patents as well as a litte hard work.

i would work on the leave command, start off with a toy get him to play tug tell him to leave or what ever command you want to use. and show him a treat, he should let go and go for the treat. once he is leaving the toy when you tell him, i would go out and bring in some dirst or what ever he is trying to eat into the house(or garden if you dont want a mess) and keep him on on a lead, if he goses near it tell him to leave and pull him away then lots of prase, give him the treat only ig he leaves it on command with out the lead tug. he should learn that when you say leave (or whatever) that he has to ignore the obgect.

but do keep in mind that he is very young, and he is still settling in.

would love to see photos of Bogart? where did you get his name.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks so much for the encouragement. After being on the computer looking for answers yesterday, I think we had a good day. He is young and really so good. Doesn't whine in his crate. Even though his first two weeks with us, I am at home with him and not working, I still can only "play" so long or watch him constantly before I am tired and must crate him again.