I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!

Fully fledged Cockapoo newbie here! Have had dogs all my life but they have all been family pets whilst I was growing up so I wasn't heavily involved in the decision making and training etc.

Our little girl is coming home in 4 weeks 4 days and 17hours... not that I'm counting every hour or anything... we had first pick of the litter, and were intending on getting a big robust boy, but the runt of the litter and the only girl stole our heart and that was that!

I was just wondering if anyone had any advice for me? It can be as general as you like! Maybe there was something you wish you did when your pup came home? Or maybe something you wish you didn't do? It would be amazing if you had some advice on adapting your resident cat to your new fur-baby! Also... does your pup sleep downstairs or up?

I've done heaps of research on what she'll need and I'm confident we have everything we need for her... apart from a name! It's more just general advice on aparting her to her new home and new family. I'm conscious that she'll have been taken away from her mama and siblings and I don't want her to be sad!

Thanks so much in advance!

·
Registered
7,559 Posts
Welcome.:) There are some simple tricks for acclimatizing cats to pup. Move their food, water and litter box now to a pup free area, we elevated the food and moved the litter box to the furnace room with a small cat door in the door. Keep the cats elevated whenever pup is around, they'll feel safe and get used to the concept. Let their first sniff be through a baby gate when they are ready. Never let pup chase kitty, not even once, a house line will help you achieve this. With time they'll be best buddies. One of our cats cleans Rufus's eye gunk for him and two others will curl up on the same lap as him.:)

·
Registered
13 Posts