I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys,

I'm new to this whole puppy world and so I have many questions. Rocky is 13 1/2 weeks old and comes from a breeder where he was spoiled rotten. And so he has a lot of separation anxiety and wants to be around us all the time.

Anyways, I have his crate attached to his play pen right now. My question is, should I leave the crate door open so he can go in and out of it as he pleases? That way he can go pee/poo on the puppy pads rather than in the crate.

My major concern is that he may hurt himself while I am at work. Also, Rocky is a howler and will start as soon as we leave but I am learning to ignore it, even though it is really hard.

Thank you!

·
Registered
1,184 Posts
Oh isn't he gorgeous!

You haven't said how long you will be leaving Rocky for? I'm assuming you are talking about daytime crating whilst you are at work?

I have a 2 year old Cockapoo, Rufus, and a puppy, Basil, who is coming up 14 weeks. If I need to pop out during the day I put Basil in his pen which is attached to his crate (sounds like a similar set up to you) but with the crate door open. This gives Basil a little more space for chewing on a Kong etc and it has a different 'feel' to being shut in for night times. I personally don't provide a puppy piddle pad during these times as I will only go out at the moment for up to 2 hours. If I do have to go out for longer in a few weeks then I may well provide a pad. At the moment I know he can go 2 hours without needing to toilet.

Karen x

·
Registered
147 Posts
Rocky is beautiful! What a pretty color and he looks like he has a great personality!

Karen - that's a great idea about the puppy pad - I've been putting one in for every time, but he tears them apart sometimes, and if I won't be out more than a couple of hours, that's a good idea to start "weaning him off them"

·
Registered
1,184 Posts