I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Fred the cockapoo
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We brought home our beautiful puppy Fred a few days ago, he has settled in wonderfully, better than we ever imagined. He’s quite a confident little man so has no issues exploring. He’s good with people although a bit unsure in the first few moments. The first time he met my dad they got on really well and he even fell asleep on his foot. The second time my dad came bouncing in all excited and gave Fred a little bit of a fright but nothing major. Although ever since then Fred is really unsure of my dad, he will give him a sniff but the run away and hide behind me. Has anyone else had this and how can my dad build that bond with Fred?

·
Registered
168 Posts
It sounds like your dad is smitten already (of course 😉), but Fred is still settling in and working people and other things out and got a bit of a fright.I’m not an expert, but Maybe your dad, and anyone new getting to know Fred, could try letting Fred approach them. This could be aided by using soft encouraging noises, being down on the floor at his level and with lots of treats so he forms a positive association with that person. High value treats all the way when he is first learning. Perhaps very gentle stroking at first and leaving more excited play until his body language is consistently saying that he’s totally comfortable. Don’t worry, I’m sure with the right approach your dad will win him over. Let us know how you get on.

·
Registered
Fred the cockapoo
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·