I Love My Cockapoo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

Just wondering how roan pups change coat colour. Do the white hairs shed off or darken? The texture of the two hair colors is different in Mielo so wanted to know how the magic happens!

Is this the same for merle and sable coats?

·
Registered
2,123 Posts
I have no experience with roans although there are quite a few jd roans on here so they may be able to help,i do know that the white area darkens over time I do have a merle and a sable though,the merles unlike the roans are born with their speckled markings,a blue merle is simply a black with diluted patches,a choc merle a choc with diluted patches.Sables are different,all are born darker than the colour they end up,my sable as jet balck as a newborn his name is hobson an you see ho he looks at the moment under the section headed american crosses,he will still go lighter as he gets older.kendal has a red sable and white,red sables dont lighten too much and some chocolate sables can go almost cream as an adult.I would love a roan though

·
Registered
2,006 Posts
I dont think the white changes but im sure Julia from JD said to me that the hair on a roan goes white/dark colour and white again (if i remember correctly/i may be wrong)so when you have them cut the apperenace may change.

Buddys markings are still the same but he has just had his rear end trimmed and it does seem as if ive taken the white tips off so his fur appears darker in that area now.
Also as your pups so young what will happen is where the white hair is the underneath will appear to go darker giving him that shaggy roan colouring

·
Registered
2,123 Posts